Thoughts Are Things…

Have you ever had days where everything seems to magically fall into place? Like the time when a series of traffic lights turned green as you whisked down a busy street on your way to that all important meeting?  Or when that one, elusive parking space appeared just as you arrived at your destination?  How about the day when someone you know, who never shows up for anything on time, happened to be there waiting for you to arrive? 

Some might simply dismiss these occurrences as being nothing more than mere coincidence or chance; the luck of the draw.  I, however, do not subscribe to that line of thinking.  Experience has shown me that the train of thought I choose to employ directly or indirectly influences my life in many ways.  I have found that positive thoughts beget positive results (most of the time), and negative thoughts result in not-so-pleasant outcomes (some of the time).

It’s not really that difficult to see a glass as being half-full as opposed to being half-empty, or to approach things—particularly those over which you have no control—with a bit of optimistic indifference.  By that I mean to highlight the importance of not overly-worrying about the inevitable.  All things happen for a reason, and they usually work out in the end.  

I believe that thoughts are indeed things…every tangible item in the world that was created by man started out as a thought, a fleeting idea, or perhaps a simple, what if?  What separates those things that become tangible from those that do not is simply that their creators knew they were on to something and refused to accept failure; they used positive thinking and force of will to bring their idea into existence.  Great innovators effectively use what each of us is born with…a positive attitude, imagination, and free will.  They are the people who have the resolve to make things happen; to manifest their ideas into physical form. 

It doesn’t require an unreasonable amount of effort to develop a positive mindset.  Go ahead and smile; say something nice to another person and make their day.  I have found that it comes back to you many-fold.  Do you see the beauty that surrounds you?  What you are observing is the mirror-image of the beauty that each of us has within…it is there, just waiting to be discovered and shared with others.   

Oh, and that glass that appears to be half-full?  If you make an effort to fill it with positive thoughts each day, it will soon be overflowing with more opportunities and benefits than you could ever imagine.

Positively yours,

Kevin

3 comments

  1. Good morning, and thank you for visiting my blog and leaving a great comment!

    I like this post, and I agree that putting out a positive message to the world around us comes back in so many ways. I’ve been accused of being a Pollyanna, not always being realilstic. But I think I am realistic…just hopeful to the end! After all, it costs nothing more to be hopeful than to be negative…both are states of mind. But I believe we become, to some extent, self-fullfilling prophecies, and so I choose hope over gloom.

    Good luck with the blogging world…looks like you’re just beginning. I’ve been doing it a little over a year and have found it to be a wonderful resource for ideas, thought provoking and laugh-out-loud reads, and some great digital friendships. I wish the same discoveries for you.

    Sheila Gibson

    1. Sheila –

      Thanks for your kind words. I have always found it easier to be optimistic than the alternative. Yes, I’m a newbie blogger, but even though I have just begun, I have been pleasantly surprised by the responses and stimulating ideas that make the blogging experience fulfilling. I look forward to the conversations and the exchange of ideas that lie ahead.

      Best regards, and happy blogging!

      Kevin

Leave a Reply

